Honorary Board

The Honorary Board of the European Championships Munich 2022 is composed of renowned representatives from various societal areas, including politics, sports, economy, science, culture, media, and religion. Thanks to their manifold competencies, the board members are delivering valuable ideas, provoking thought processes, and offering holistic support for the project. 

Board Members

FaeserNancyFederal Minister of the Interior and Community
UllrichFrankChairman of the Sports Committee of the German Parliament
MayerStephanMember of the Sports Committee of the German Parliament
WinklmannTinaMember of the Sports Committee of the German Parliament
Dr.SöderMarkusMinister President of the Free State of Bavaria
HerrmannJoachimMinister of the Interior of the Free State of Bavaria
Dr.RungeMartinChairman of the Committee on Community, Internal Security and Sports of the Bavarian Parliament
ReiterDieterLord Mayor of the City of Munich
DietlVerenaSports Mayor/Chairwoman of the Sports Committee of the City of Munich
KrausFlorianHead of the Department of Education and Sports of the City of Munich
SchöneMarionManaging Director of Olympiapark München GmbH
WeikertThomasPresident of the German Olympic Sports Confederation (DOSB)
ScharpingRudolfPresident of the German Cycling Federation (BDR)
KlennerJosefPresident of the German Alpine Club (DAV)
RöhrFriederikeChairwoman of the German professional association of gymnastics instructors (DGYMB)
PerlwitzJensPresident of the German Canoe Federation (DKV)/Vice-President of the International Canoe Federation (ICF)
KessingJürgenPresident of the German Athletics Federation (DLV)/Lord Mayor of the City of Bietigheim-Bissingen
KaidelSiegfriedChairman of the German Rowing Federation (DRV)
Dr.HölzlAlfonsPresident of the German Gymnastics Federation (DTB)
HerwegClaudiaPresident of the German Table Tennis Federation (DTTB)
Prof. Dr.EngelhardtMartinPresident of the German Triathlon Union (DTU)
HechtRenéPresident of the German Volleyball Federation (DVV)
BerlemannThomasChairman of the Board of the German Sports Aid Foundation
AmmonJörgPresident of the Bavarian State Sports Association (BLSV)
Dr.ClemensProkopHonorary President of the German Athletics Federation (DLV)/President of the District Court
VogelKristinaOlympic gold medallist and world champion in Track Cycling
HambüchenFabianOlympic gold medallist in Gymnastics
BäteOliverChairman of the Management Board of Allianz
ZipseOliverChairman of the Management Board of BMW
HopsBerndExecutive Vice President & Chief Communications Officer of Infineon Technologies AG 
NowickiJürgenExecutive Vice President Linde/CEO Linde Engineering 
KaeserJoeChairman of the Management Board of Siemens
FleischerRalfChairman of the Management Board of Stadtsparkasse München
BalkauskyAxelSports Coordinator at ARD
SchäferPatriciaDeputy Director of the ZDF regional studio in Bavaria
NetzelChristophHead of Sports at BR
Prof. Dr.HuberBerndPresident of the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich
Prof. Dr.HofmannThomasPresident of the Technical University Munich
Prof. Dr.KeuchelSusannePresident of the German Cultural Council
StücklChristianDirector of Münchner Volkstheater
GnauertJochenManaging Director of Kulturgipfel
PrachtKatharinaManaging Director of PGM Promoters Group Munich
Cardinal MarxReinhardArchbishop of Munich and Freising
Breit-KeßlerSusanneFormer member of the High Consistory in Bavaria, Regional Bishop (rtd)
KnoblochCharlottePresident of the Israelite Religious Community of Munich and Upper Bavaria